Reviews

Atmospheric restaurant

Promise you, your visit to Prague will be more memorable if you dine at this restaurant. It isn't cheap, but it is a very beautiful dining room which will make you feel like you are dining in a palace.

The food is very good and the staff are very kind and thoughtful.
We chose the Bohemia tasting menu, which I recommend.
We asked to swap a the roasted pork dish and they were did so readily, swapping it for quail. Also some of our party wanted the pairing wines and others didn't and they were happy to accommodate that as well.

If you want to experience what Prague probably felt like in its heyday, try U Maliru - it may end up being one of your top Prague vacation experiences.
November 2018 Esther K Singapore

“Excellent fine dining experience”

We visited once for lunch and chose to return for dinner a few days later. This is a fine-dining establishment, with white tablecloths and "correct" but friendly service, but the pricing is an exceptionally good value for the experience. (Both meals included amuse-bouche, sorbet, and house-made chocolates served with the coffee.)

I was pleasantly surprised to find two good vegetarian main dishes, and the portions were all properly sized for a good appetite.

November 2018 Alexandria, Virginia

Excellency

One of the best experience for fine dining not only in Praha but in Europe. One of the oldest restaurants in Prague, unique interior design with historical wall paintings, excellent waitresses and delicous menu accompanied by wonderful wine of select. Nothing more could be expected for a fine dining.

November 2018 Halezeroglu Istanbul

Refined food in nice setting

Elegant restaurant. Food is sophisticated and very tasty. We have tried both the fish and the meat and everything was excellent. Price is not cheap, but it’s worth it

October 2018 MichGVA Geneva

Little Bohemia

We had a lovely evening at U Maliru last week. We were welcomed into the restaurant by friendly waiting staff and the whole experience was very relaxed. They let us take our time to settle into the atmosphere and order an aperitif before even looking at the menu. The waiter introduced the menu with a short but informative history of the restaurant which was truly interesting. We ordered the foie gras and lobster bisque for starters which were both really tasty and then we shared the chateaubriand for main. The chateaubriand was flambéed at the table by the waiter and was done excellently. The amuse bouche and chocolates were a really nice touch. Amazing experience, amazing food and amazing service. Highly recommend.

Ćervenec 2018 Megan R London

Lovely

We ended up in this restaurant by chance the day of our arrival in Prague. We had no idea this was such a classy restaurant ! Despite us clearly looking like students, we were received extremely politely (they did our coat, accompanied us to our table, etc.)

The prices are very reasonable for such a good restaurant, especially if you take the lunch menu formula like we did. We were offered amuse-bouches, and traditional Czech bread that was constantly renewed. The personnel was absolutely lovely. They tended to us very politely and without any pressure, regularly checking on our glasses while remaining very discrete.

The food, of course, was amazing, and we were also graciously offered chocolates at the end of our meal. We wanted to try traditional Czech cuisine and we got it at its best.

I absolutely recommend this restaurant. Will go again for sure!

Ćerven 2018 Jamesw8305

Fabulous dinner experience!

So happy that we found this restaurant while in Prague. My husband and I wanted to have one really nice dinner to celebrate our trip and we could not have been happier. The restaurant itself is lovely, with some fun history but the staff was also great -very friendly and attentive, top notch service. And of course the food was also very impressive. It was all delicious and also presented beautifully. We both ordered a set menu and the whole thing was put together perfectly. We were offered an aperitif on arrival as well as an amuse bouche between courses and a lovely tray of chocolates arrived with the bill. These extra touches really impressed us and took a great experience to an excellent one. This is a more expensive restaurant by area standards but so worth it and real value for money! On all counts this was our favourite dinner while in Prague and we highly recommend it for a special evening out!

11.Ćerven 2018 M.Watt27 Vancouver

Perfection

We are in Prague and wanted a great dinner to celebrate a birthday. We relied on the concierge at our hotel to recommend somewhere special. U Maliru exceeded our expectations. The old world ambience, top-flight service and truly spectacular food made the evening memorable: We all (3 persons) had the Exclusive Degustation Menu with wine pairings, which many might consider expensive and worth it!!! I encourage you to look at their menu for the specifics but will give an idea: 1: Beluga caviar, 2: grilled foie gras, 3: grilled pike perch (outstanding); 4: grilled veal loin (a bit over -cooked, and our only negative comment); 5: asst. cheeses, 5: strawberries flambeed tableside w/ butter, grande mariner and chantilly cream. The wines were perfect for each course and we never would have known to select them.
I want to thank Chef Dolezal for preparing such a remarkable meal, and to all of the gentlemen who so expertly served us one of the finest dining experiences we have ever had. I HIGHLY recommend U Maliru.

May 2018 Rye Beach New Hempshire

Chateaubriand Flambe for Two, Romantic Dinner with Candlelight...

Order Chateaubriand Flambe for two at the table side.
What could be more romantic in the most elegant, intimate and historic restaurant in Prague.

We were delighted to see the restaurant newly reopened, as it was under restoration last year. We walked in to make reservations and were looking forward to our celebratory dinner.
Both rooms, one on each side of the small entry are beautiful. We chose to dine in the larger dinning room to the right. We always ask for the same beautifully situated table by the original stained glass windows and view of the fireplace. The ceilings are intricate, hand painted and beautiful.

We were promptly seated on arrival, and had a friendly chat about our previous experiences here, before the evening got busy. The staff is new, at least to us, we did not recognize anyone from years back, but they could not be friendlier. We were just truly happy we could return to a place that was not changed, restored with utmost care, true to its old glory.
Established in 1543, it is one of the oldest restaurants in Prague, if not the oldest.

We both had Proseco, to celebrate our return, and my husband later had his favorite GT. I had some special sparkling bottled water.

After much debating we ordered the Lobster Bisque again, second time in Prague this year. Hmm, never thought to find that to be popular in Prague. The soup was delicious and slightly different, what we had in Francouska restaurant the night before. It was rich and creamy, but a little darker, perhaps paprika was added or darker sherry? Still, very good, indeed.

The star of the evening - the Chateaubriand for two followed. Flambeed at the table,it was skillfully done - a great show with flames shooting up high and an amazing and flavorful result. The finest tenderloin was cooked to perfection, medium rare and it was truly a feast. It came with a side of tiny potatoes and a wonderful red wine mushroom reduction. We drank Pilsner, nicely chilled.

With the delicious bread to start, the amuse bouche, sorbet to cleanse palate, we had no room left for dessert. Or so we thought. Until we were presented with complimentary small chocolates. Perfect ending to a perfect dinner !

The service that night was just perfection. Professional, friendly, unobtrusive.
In one word - classy! Our waiters Tomas and Milan made our evening the most enjoyable and long to be remembered.

I saved the evening's bill for this important detail to include in the review. The 2518 CZK before tip seemed like a bargain to us for the amazing experience.
It was truly our BEST dinner while in Prague this year.

Wenovo
New Yersey

Excellent Dinner away from the crowds

Had a wonderful relaxed dinner with impeccable service. Food was inventive, beautifully presented. Portions were adequate given the number of courses and extra " goodies" such as the unexpected amuse bouche. But most of all the restaurant was a great respite from the crowds and repetitive menus found in so many Prague restaurants. A true oasis on the Castle side of the Charles bridge.

Geordie, Oakland
October 2017

Excellent Upscale Restaurant

We ate there last night. The ambience is great. The restaurant itself, the oldest in Prague, is beautiful. The service is unrushed. The food was excellent. Our entrees were the trout fillet and the steak Entrecôte. The price for two people, including three glasses of French red wine and a bottle of Icelandic spring water, was approximately $53, including tip. We didn't order appetizers or dessert because we weren't that hungry. With those, I imagine the price would have doubled, but that still would be reasonable for the quality and ambience.

Michael B.
California
Septembre 2017

“Everything excellent!”

This restaurant is located in an historic, beautiful building. Candles and white tablecloths. Wonderful, friendly, professional service. Food is Czech with a French twist. Wonderful. Foie grass as an appetizer; two kinds of duck (confit and breast) with delicious red cabbage. We could not have had a more wonderful evening! Highly recommended!

Seth
Mitchigan
Septembre 2017

Extraordinary European Adventure

The oldest restaurant in Prague, as the name say, established in 1543. Prices are a bit on the high side but still much lower than you would find in Manhattan. We had the "Bohemian," a five course delight, and the Duck Breast and a Strawberry Flambé for desert, prepared at out table of course. The service was Old World Europe at it's best; unbelievable! And the food to die for, especially the Flambé. The sauce was so good you wanted to lick the plate! This place should not be missed if you visit this beautiful city. For a special hidden treat, ask if you can see the "gentleman's" smoking room and bar in the lower level.

MangoDEM
Missouri
August 2017

Le top

Tout d'abord le cadre absolument magnifique avec ses voûtes couvertes de fresques vous enmene hors du temps, ensuite l' accueil chaleureux et professionnel des maîtres d' hôtel vous met à l aise. Le repas fut parfait du début à la fin dans une ambiance feutrée et éclairée aux bougies. La carte est quasi constituée de classiques de la cuisine française revisités , assez étonnant en plein cœur de Prague . La carte des vins n' est pas en reste avec un grand choix de flacons français et étrangers dans plusieurs conditionnements...un très bon moment

Namur
Belgium
August 2017

Found this on our last day in Prague

We had a late lunch it was a marvellous experience now I see its got a bad review do not understand this as both food and wine were top class. Also service was perfect, the restaurant décor and ambience was truly marvellous

Mike
Ireland
June 2017