Upon entering the restaurant, visitors will be enchanted by the historical atmosphere and magic of old times. The restaurant was established in 1543 and, amongst its “barflies”, was Emperor Rudolph II who came to dine there on recommendation from his royal staff, who were sent to find the most hospitable restaurant in the area. The remarkable menu is accompanied by unique design of the restaurant decorated with magnificent murals by R. Adámek and R Jindřich from 1936-37.

Dům byl v 15. století přistavěn na hradbu před maltézským kostelem a klášterem, jehož postraním právem a knihami se řídil. Roku 1543 od Jiříka Kuřátky koupil dům malíř Šic za 40 kop grošů a od těch dob se tu říkalo U Malířů 1543. V roce 1604 koupil dům Jan Litoměřický z Jizbice a od jeho sirotků roku 1607 Benedikt Galthan, který dům přestavěl.